Butterfly Dream

tiger swallowtail

A dream is a butterfly
With glittery rainbow wings
Fluttering carefree about the garden
On a sunny day in spring.

Soaring high with promise,
Dipping with enticing possibility,
Teasing me with expectations,
Brushing my cheek without apology.

Alighting upon the flower of desire –
Suckling the nectar, deep within my soul –
Then fluttering playfully about,
As if my peace she had not stole.

When I try to catch her,
Gently in my hand,
She alludes my hopeful grasp
Fluttering back to heaven again.

 

One thought on “Butterfly Dream

Leave a Reply

