Perspectives

20160817_062821

As I make breakfast
I watch the rising sun
Framed by the beach house window
It’s beauty is blotched by smudges
and filtered through an old filthy screen.

I silently ponder…

What do people see
When they took at me?
Do they see kindness,
Compassion and grace?
Or do dirt and grim
Smudge those desired traits?

20160817_062908

Gazing from the balcony
With a hot coffee in hand
I try to watch the sun rise
From it’s ocean cradle.
My view is obstructed by
Wires and houses built by man.

And I ponder…

What obstructions in my life
Block people out, keeping them
At bay so that they can’t get
Close enough to notice my
Insecurities and flaws?
I continue to ponder…

Why keep them at a distance?

Wouldn’t it be best
To break down the walls
So that they can learn
Who I truly am…
Giving them a chance
To see and know me?

Once the barriers go …

The sun can shine in
And heal hurts and pain.
Authentic friendship
Can grow and flourish.
My life can become
an open landscape.

20160815_065157

5 thoughts on “Perspectives

Leave a Reply

