The Hiker’s Burden

20160622_164303.jpg

As I climb this mountain
Try’n to reach the top,
My burden weighs me down
Causing me to stop.

Extremely exhausted
From this load upon my back,
I choose to throw it off ā€”
Unload each and every sack.

I lay down my burdens
I lay down my pain
I lay down what’s broken
I lay down my shame

I lay down my sorrow
I lay down my fear
I lay down my worries
I lay down my tears

When the sacks are empty,
I spread out my wings and soar.
I’m light as a feather ā€”
No more burdens to endure.

I abandon hiking,
Soaring high instead.
My backpack discarded ā€”
Soul no longer dead.

6 thoughts on “The Hiker’s Burden

    • Thank you. šŸ™‚ The picture was taken at Dolly Sods, West Virginia. We camped near there last week. I highly recommend visiting and hiking there. šŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

