Thriving Amidst Adversity

2016-05-22 11.19.58
                                                             Photo credit: © Ilene Varner 2016 (used with permission)

 

Radiant iris
Flourishing amid the weeds
Looking to the sun.

Proud, healthy, thriving
Defeating adversity
Bringing hope to all.

 

Life is full of hardships, struggles, and pain.  We can allow these weeds to strangle us with hate, bitterness, and unforgiveness or we can choose to be like my friend Ilene’s iris and bloom despite whatever is trying to overtake us.  All too often I allow the weeds to strangle me but I’d rather flourish amidst my trials like Ilene’s iris.  Today I choose to look to the Son and thrive.  I choose not to let the weeds of life ensnare and entangle me.  Instead I choose to defeat adversity by flourishing though I’m surrounded weeds.  What about you?  What weeds are surrounding you and trying to snuff out your joy and hope?  How can you bloom and flourish in the midst of those weeds?

I would like to share a few Bible verses which have blessed and comforted me over the years.  May they be a balm to your soul as well.

Jesus said, “Come to me, all who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”  Matthew 11:28-30 (NIV)

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.  Philippians 4:6,7  (NIV)

For in the day of trouble he will keep me safe in his dwelling; he will hide me in the shelter of his sacred tent and set me high upon a rock.  Then my head will be exalted above my enemies who surround me; at his sacred tent I will sacrifice with shouts of joy; I will sing and make music to the LORD.  (NIV) Psalms 27:5,6

 

6 thoughts on “Thriving Amidst Adversity

  1. That is what I call a redeemed attitude, counting the blessings the Lord has given me. That keeps those “weeds” of life from being overwhelming.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re welcome, Kathleen. I needed to hear it as well. 🙂 Have a blessed day. It’s finally sunny here so I’m out enjoying the sunshine before the next storm blows through! 😃

      Like

Leave a Reply

