Flight to Freedom

2016-04-10 07.24.09

life in the the shack
birthed a stubborn hope inside me
renewing my decision
to take my daughters and make
our flight from Stonewycke
to freedom from abuse
maybe this escape
will be a new beginning –
a journey to love
and restoration…
honestly, I’m surprised we are alive
we kept the angels busy protecting us…

 

napo2016button2

 

The challenge was to pull some books off of a shelf and use their titles to write a “book spine”poem.  I’m on vacation at my parents’ house so I pulled five books off Mom’s shelf for Sunday’s prompt.     This particular prompt was really difficult for me.  I feel like end product is prose in poem form and a beginning to a novel rather than a poem…

3 thoughts on “Flight to Freedom

Leave a Reply

