Life Springs Forth

2016-04-03 17.31.49

Egg into tadpole
tadpole into frog,
miracle of life
leaps into the bog.

 

I wrote this little ditty for a friend’s preschool daughter. As I wrote it I started thinking about how change, a huge part of life, is represented in nature: egg – tadpole – frog, egg – caterpillar – butterfly, spring – summer – fall – winter, and egg – embryo – infant – toddler – child – teen – young adult – middle age – senior.  As I pondered these changes, my thoughts wandered to my grandparents, the photo posted above, and how life has leapt forward for me.

This picture of my grandparents’ old farm was taken one early summer day about two years ago.  My grandparents, who are both gone now, sold their farm years ago. Since their farm is only about a twenty minute drive from my house, I drive by it fairly often to revisit childhood memories. The barn pictured here burned down earlier this year but the owner built the new one to look as much like the original as possible.  There used to be boxwoods in front of the house with a path going through them.   I went on many adventures in these boxwoods. They were portals to other worlds and I was the only one who knew of them. 😉

Life keeps springing forward.  Tadpoles still swim in the pond. I can hear the peepers in the spring and the bullfrogs croaking in the summer if I drive by the farm, pull off the road, and quietly listen. As life moves on, I’ll always have the memories of being chased by a grouchy gander, rolling down the hill, trying to help grandpa carry pails of milk from the barn to the milkhouse, playing hide and seek with cousins, playing and swinging in the haymow, eating fried mush slathered in molasses, waking up to the sound of roosters crowing in the early morning, horses hooves clip clopping down the road as their Amish owners head to church, grandma singing as she cooked and hung out the laundry, laying on the bedroom floor at the stove pipe hole to listen to the adults talking, going out to the  pasture to pet Aunt Ellen’s horses, visiting Uncle David’s pigs, and many, many other precious memories.  As things change, life springs forward and memories and legacies last.  My grandparents left a rich legacy of faith, love, grace, hope,  laughter, strong work ethic, and service which I’m passing on to my children along with the stories of my visits to Grandma’s house.  Life moves forward.  I have many more adventures and memories awaiting me. 🌞

 

napo2016button2

 

The Daily Post’s “Landscape” photo prompt.

5 thoughts on “Life Springs Forth

  1. There are so many pleasant memories a farm evokes. I spent summer’s at my grandparent’s farm in Wisconsin and I have tried to capture the image and feelings for 31 years and still feel at a loss for words but the beat of my heart gives them life. I wish every child could experience time at such a place. A place where a new found love is woven into each blade of grass. 🙂

    Like

    • Jeanne, thanks for your comment. I think that you did an excellent job of conveying your feelings here. I especially liked the following sentence; it perfectly describes my grandparents’ home as well as my own home growing up. “A place where a new found love is woven into each blade of grass.” That sentence is a poem waiting to be written. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks, Susan for those memories. I of course share the same memories and many others growing up on that farm. Grandma put up with what she called “a big old unhandy house”, but we children thought it was wonderful. There was plenty of space to run and play and as we got older lots of work to be done. I think we were all the better for having lived there and having the “opportunities” of working in the garden, cleaning house mowing that huge lawn, carrying milk, making hay, feeding calves, feeding the cows, getting the cows across the road from the pasture at milking time, and then back across the road afterward. Then there was planting tomatoes, hoeing tomatoes, picking tomatoes and loading the baskets on the wagons. We even had to carry buckets of water and plants to the field and transplant tomatoes where a tomato plant didn’t grow. We even went to the field and hoed corn! Needless to say, there were no overweight children in our family!
    As I said, we had lots of opportunities.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I loved that “big unhandy house.” I’m surprised that she thought of it as unhandy. I’d think that it’d be the perfect place and very handy for raising eight kids. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

