Practice Precedes Perfection

I wrote the following ditty this morning after reading about accents, syllables, meters, rules and laws of rhyme, alliteration, assonance, etc. Whenever I read books like this one, I want to pull out my hair and run screaming to the mountains.  Yet, I have a deep desire to hone my poetic skills and better my writing.  It’s really difficult for me retain these rules. No matter how often I read over them and come back to them, they are still Greek to me. I just can’t seem to retain what I read.

I wonder if it’s my dyslexia?  I don’t know the cause of my problems understanding all the rules, terms, and such.  I just know that I love poetry and have to write what is inside of me. I also know that I must be a sucker for torture because I keep going back to those poetry manuals. I want to learn, grow, and better my poetry. Maybe, just maybe, one of these days it’ll all click and I’ll comprehend what I’m reading rather than feeling inadequate. Until then I’ll try my best to learn and share my imperfect poetry and ditties with the world. Here’s one for y’all. 😉

I’m try’n to learn
The tricks of rhyme.
I think I need
A bit more time.

The more I write
I truly see
I need much help
With my poetry. 😎

 

(And my grammar, too. 😜 😚)
Have a blessed and frustration free day!

6 thoughts on “Practice Precedes Perfection

  1. It is alright to take efforts to improve what you are doing, but kick those feelings of inferiority out the door! God doesn’t make junk. He gave you a gift, keep on using it.
    I have found that if I have a project which if love to do and it becomes a problem to me, to just set it aside for awhile, and come back to it later. It is okay to write what is on your heart or in your head and come back and perfect it later. Hugs!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks for the reminder and encouragement. I know he doesn’t make junk and I love writing. I just desire to grow, mature, and blossom as a writer. I think the best way for me to do that is just read and study the works of great writers and poets and not worry about the technical terms. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

