Winter Masterpiece

2016-02-21 08.09.54

Climbing out of bed, I quickly shove my feet into my slippers, and walk quietly to the front window. Drawing the curtains aside, I peer out into the early morning light. A winter wonderland welcomes me. The yard and meadow are snuggled beneath a blanket of snow. The icicles sparkle in the sun like glittering diamonds as three bluebirds enjoy their breakfast buffet nearby. My gaze shifts to the geraniums and cacti on the windowsill. They make a warm cheerful contrast to the cold winter scene behind them.

red geranium
leaning towards the window pane
chuckles at the snow

Smiling at the contrast, I turn from the window, shuffle into the kitchen, and pour myself a cup of coffee. It’s a perfect morning to wrap myself in a warm blanket, sit in my recliner, and delight in God’s exquisite winter masterpiece.

 

 

                                                How many are your works, Lord!
In wisdom you made them all;
the earth is full of your creatures.

May the glory of the Lord endure forever;
may the Lord rejoice in his works—

I will sing to the Lord all my life;
I will sing praise to my God as long as I live.
May my meditation be pleasing to him,
as I rejoice in the Lord.

Psalm 104:24, 31, 33-34

3 thoughts on “Winter Masterpiece

Leave a Reply

