Prayer Journaling as an Act of Worship

Prayer journaling can be an act of worship for people who enjoy expressing themselves through the written word. It helps calm the mind, relax the body, and sort through frolicking thoughts. It will be as unique as the individual who incorporates it into his or her spiritual journey. I’ve found prayer journaling invaluable in my walk with the Lord. This is what it looks like in my life.

I usually begin with a prayer like:

Lord, speak to me through today’s scripture. Show me what you want me to glean from it and how you want me to apply it to my life. Holy Spirit speak to my heart as I read. Amen.

Next, I read the day’s scripture. After the scripture reading I pray asking God to speak to me as I meditate on the day’s passage. I journal what I feel the Spirit speaking to my heart. Then I pause and reflect on what I’ve written and journal my response to the Lord.

I’ve had a closer and more meaningful walk with the Lord since implementing prayer journaling into my morning routine. I don’t believe that it’s the actual prayer journaling that accomplished this but rather the fact that I’m spending time with the Lord doing something that I love.

It’s important for each of us to find a way to commune with the Lord and absorb His Word but how we do it will be as unique as the individual. A runner may enjoy listening to scripture on her iPod and talking to Him as she runs. A gardener may enjoy listening to scripture and communing with the Lord as he gardens or a pianist might worship Him through her music. Remember that worship is a lifestyle rather than a time of singing to the Lord. We can worship Him through out our day in all we do. Prayer journaling is only one meaningful way I worship Him. You will find your own unique and meaningful ways.

In closing, I’d like to share a poem I wrote based on Psalm 1:

Walking With the Lord
Susan Witmer Miller

Daily I walk with the Lord.
On Him, I set my sight.
On His Word I mediate;
morning, noon, and night.

Soaking up living water,
so nourishing to me.
The Spirit’s fruit blooms within;
ready seasonally.

Those who do not know the Lord,
life’s winds scatter all about.
Without roots to anchor them,
they can not grow or sprout.

I’d rather walk with my Lord,
even though life’s pain,
than blow around restlessly;
seeking more wealth to gain.

The Lord watches over me
showing me where to go.
With Him to direct my path,
stronger my faith will grow.

Leave a Reply

