The Book List

Booklist pict

I saw a list the other day
Of books I should have read for fun
Before I grew and matured
To the ripe age of twenty one.

Tears streamed down my cheeks
Disappointment stung like a bee.
At the ancient age of forty four,
That list was too late for me.

Oh, what is to become of me
Since I’ve missed some awesome books?
Will my brain dry up like a prune
and my face take on a grouchy look?

Will I be a grumpy old lady
Who scares off the neighbor kids?
Or one who drones on and on
About the price of canning lids?

I missed visiting so many lands –
Fairy, earth, space, and sea –
And meeting many different creatures
Now what will become of me?

Visiting enchanted lands –
Places still unknown –
Is what keeps us young at heart
And interesting when we’re grown.

My place is on the book train –
Traveling through time and space –
I’d rather visit these missed lands late in life
Than sit with a frown upon my face!

I’ll never be too old
To read an ageless book
And discover a new treasure
While in my cozy nook.

Come along with me –
Board the reading train –
There are many lands awaiting
And fun adventures for us to gain!

4 thoughts on “The Book List

  1. What a beautiful poem. I suspect that if you are dancing though life in the arms of the Messiah you will not look like the person you just described. Keep on writing young lady!

    Like

Leave a Reply

