A Poem for My Mother-in-law

Hands that bless those
around you with:
beautiful quilted wall hangings,
warm beautiful quilts,
delicious home cooked meals seasoned with love,
and a warm welcoming home.

Body that carried and birthed
two sons and a daughter
who love and serve their Creator,
are caring spouses,
loving parents,
and a blessing to those around them.

Eyes which are warm and caring,
inviting friends and loved ones to
sit and chat awhile.
Eyes that say, “I love you.”
“You are important.”
“I care.”

Arms which Embrace
the grandchildren;
pulling the young ones onto
your lap for snuggles and a story,
measuring how the teens
have grown.

Welcoming
inviting
caring
a woman of faith.
I am blessed to
call you Mother and friend.

3 thoughts on “A Poem for My Mother-in-law

  1. Reblogged this on Sue's Nook and commented:

    Early this morning a very special lady passed away. She welcomed me with open arms as a daughter when I married her son. She loved her grandkids and made it a tradition to come each year to watch the boys participate in the Pinewood Deby. We will greatly miss her here on earth but heaven has gained a beautiful jewel. I wrote the following poem that I wrote for her on Mother’s Day in 2014.

    Like

Leave a Reply

